India Name T20 Team for England Series

Last week England announced their 16-man T20 squad to face India next month. India have now named their own squad, which includes three uncapped players.

The England squad are set to depart London on the 26th of February for their 5 match series which can be seen at the bottom of the page.

With a T20 World Cup taking place in India later this year, this series is being seen as an acid test for the England squad as they hope to become reigning white-ball kings by adding the T20 title to the ODI World Cup they won in 2019.

India have decided to rest Jasprit Bumrah with an ODI series taking place following the conclusion of the T20 one. Virat Kohli will captain a side that is loaded with talent with both bat and ball.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar will return with Bumrah being rested and there are callups for Mumbai Indians batsmen Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, 22, plus Rajasthan Royals leg spinning all-rounder Rahul Tewatia. All of the names will be familiar to those who watch plenty of IPL, with Yadava coming off a superb tournament where he averaged 40.

Ishan Kishan celebrated his maiden call-up by smashing 173 in just 94 balls today in the Vijay Hazare Trophy playing for Jharkhand, who put up an impressive 422/9 in their 50 overs.

Tewatia was in impressive form for the Royals last season, hitting 5 sixes in a single Sheldon Cottrell over as Rajasthan chased down an improbably total of 224.

This is set to be a very difficult test for England, but you imagine any hope of winning the T20 World Cup will mean beating India en-route.

India's T20I squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wkt), Ishan Kishan (wkt), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

England T20I Squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Reece Topley (Surrey), Mark Wood (Durham).

Reserves: Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire)

England men’s IT20 fixtures in India (all matches are 1900 IST/1330 GMT starts):

Friday 26 February: Touring party departs from London to Ahmedabad

Friday 12 March: 1st IT20 India v England, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad

Sunday 14 March: 2nd IT20 India v England, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad

Tuesday 16 March: 3rd IT20 India v England, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad

Thursday 18 March: 4th IT20 India v England, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad

Saturday 20 March: 5th IT20 India v England, Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad


Recent Posts

See All

You've made a great choice!